Skip to content

Welcome, 2012 X10

January 11, 2012

Hello, I can’t believe it’s already been over a week since the new year. A lot has happened and I have been slacking on the updated since throughout the holidays so I felt that this deserved one since there has been a ton of things going on since the start of the new year. Also to keep on track with my promise to keep this updated with more things about my progression with photography.

Ok,first thing I am really excited about is that I got a new camera!

Yes it’s the Fuji Film X10. I didn’t pay full price for it so dont worry. I have been looking at the Fuji line for a while now ever since my photo walk with Dave Powell from Shoottokyo when he let me use his Fuji X100, and I had been wanting to get my hands on the X10 ever since I’ve heard about it.

Most of it, is aesthetics of the camera itself because honestly my D90 is perfectly fine but one thing that pushed me to make the decision was the holidays. Spending time with family and friends more than usual, I of course wanted to take pictures, but the big bulky intimidating DSLR is very awkward sometimes not only with strangers but with family as well. I wanted something that looked innocent enough and maybe even more covert that was silent and fast. Something that didn’t cause people to notice me when I was taking their picture.

Now I am not going to write about the specs for the X10 because you can find that stuff anywhere, this is more of my own opinion on the camera.

I got the camera this past Thursday and over the weekend I had a chance to carry it with me everywhere I went without it being a hassle. I have no complaints so far since I just got it but the time I’ve had with it so far has been very enjoyable. The most important thing about this camera to me isnt its ability to shoot RAW or preform well in low light (Those things are awesome, don’t get me wrong!) but the fact that it makes me want to go out and shoot even more! I want to carry it with me at all times and use it whenever possible, and I dont feel awkward when using it in public for street photography which is what this thing is so awesome for. It inspires me and gives me a kick of motivation to go and use it, to go and make something. Now I dont see myself using this for school or events, it is more for the everyday with friends family and lifestyle. Most of it will inspire more posts on this blog other than the events I got to, because I’ve been meaning to make this more personal than an event blog. I like to think of it as my tool, my pen for coming up with new ideas, generating inspiration without the hassle of a DSLR.

Like I said I just got it over the weekend so I am still getting used to the functions and what not, but here are a few of my favorite photos I took with the X10!

That’s it for now, there will be a ton more this year. I am really excited for what is to come. I will definitely start a weekly post of the best pictures I take with the X10.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 2:46 am

    Ant,
    Great post. You know I’m not a photographer but I do love to take pictures. I have been so happy with my old Canon PowerShot mostly because it so small and very portable. And it does a pretty decent job for a point and shoot. Anyway, I can see why you would want the X10. I think the images you have here are awesome. Keep shooting and keep writing!!!

  2. January 11, 2012 2:51 am

    You are so talented! I got a dslr camera for christmas, and I’m going to start taking some pictures, and I’d love for input! I esp love your night time picture you have there…very cool.

Leave a Reply

